Musings

4 (ever), 5, 6, 7, wait

​It’s la la la la love month once again. As of this writing, it’s the night before Valentine’s Day and I told myself that I will be sleeping early to catch up on sleep — but here I am pouring my heart out into writing. Okay. Okay. Enough for blabbering. 

In this day and age when “May boyfriend ka na ba?” questions arise during reunions, it’s kind of surprising that I don’t feel pressured that upto now my answer is “Wala po.” It must be this truth that I’ve come to know — a relationship isn’t what will bring me real and lasting joy. Although I want to be married and have my family in the future, I know I don’t have to worry. I know my God knows my desires and He has a season for everything.

In this day and age when not settling for less and waiting for God’s best seems like being idealistic for some, I will be firm. I pray so. Although sometimes His promises are yet to come true, I know if He wills, all things are possible. If God can give His everything, His Son’s life for me, what else can He not give? 

In this day and age when lust is disguised as love, I pray that I won’t fall prey to sin. I pray that the relationship I will have in the future is one that pleases my Father. What I do now or in the near future, the decisions I will make, will surely make ripples in my future and my future family’s future. Forever is at risk.

I may have qualities in mind of the person I want to say “Yes” and “I Do” in the future, but I’ve realized that I have to lay them down and make them known to God. He knows what and who’s best for me because He made me. And, lately, I’ve noticed my list’s getting shorter and shorter. It’s become less shallow through the years. What’s left are what matters most.

Love, courtship, and marriage are too big of a word to be boxed in the mere desire of wanting to experience butterflies in the tummy, flushed cheeks, or kilig. Forever’s at stake.

A romantic relationship isn’t the only goal, the finish line, the happy ending. A rekindled relationship with God is. And all the others are just icing on the cake. 

I may not be expecting flowers nor chocolates, not even a greeting from someone, on Valentine’s Day…

I will still be waiting, though.

But, from this day on, I won’t be waiting on anyone or a specific man in mind.

I will still be waiting, yes.

But, from this day on, I pray that I’ll only be waiting on God more than anyone. 

1, 2, 3, 4ever, 5, 6, 7, wait.

At the end of the day, all’s left to the hands of my Maker, my Father, my God. He’s got my life; I know He’s got my heart as well. He has the power to do anything He wants in my story. I only pray that I will always hold His Words as my compass; and that my heart won’t wander elsewhere — no matter what.

May earthly love life man ako or none, ‘wag lang mawala yung heavenly love life ko, I know I’ll be fine. If not for God and His love, I probably won’t be seeing love the way I see it now. Happy Valentine’s Day! ❤

Leave a Reply

