Moments

“Ezer” Sunday

My past phone-in-the water experience felt like a preview of yesterday’s Sunday message, Flee from Immorality. Having had struggles with impurity in the past (and at times even at present), the message really resonated with me. It hit. But, the reminder of how God loved me for who I was and who I am hit me harder. I guess it’s the first time in a long time that I cried uncontrollably during the closing prayer and while singing during worship.

I was given yet a new beginning even when it’s not a first day of the month. Truly, God’s mercies are new every morning.

And while that experience was already something wonderful I will remember for the rest of my days, I didn’t know that God is still brewing another one.

Through our dgroup, I found a eureka moment. I found a new and more definite purpose in my life. My role and purpose in life as a woman became more clear — it’s to glorify God by following His design and identity for me. He created and called me to be an “ezer kenegdo,” an ally, essential counterpart, indispensable companion, and corresponding strength to the men God has put me under in my life. I am to reflect God’s “ezer” nature to the world esp. to them — for now, my father.

This afternoon, my mom asked me, “Ano bang pangarap mo?” I didn’t have an answer right away. “Magkapamilya?” “Oo.” But, I didn’t sound so sure unlike before. “Simple lang naman mga pangarap ko.” I guess I’m set to discovering new dreams again.

I’m not sure whether I’ll be an “Eve” for an “Adam” in the future, but I pray that I’ll be an “Ezer” that will glorify God for the rest of my life from this day on.

In all these things I’ve been experiencing for the past weeks, all I can say is, Thank You, Lord. Maraming salamat.

Yesterday felt like a rebirth. It felt as if a new me was born. It was my Easter in July.

1 thought on ““Ezer” Sunday”

Leave a Reply

